Skip to main content
  • Buffalo Bisons
  • Charlotte Knights
  • Columbus Clippers
  • Durham Bulls
  • Gwinnett Stripers
  • Indianapolis Indians
  • Lehigh Valley IronPigs
  • Louisville Bats
  • Norfolk Tides
  • Pawtucket Red Sox
  • Rochester Red Wings
  • Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders
  • Syracuse Mets
  • Toledo Mud Hens
Below is an advertisement.
Governors' Cup

In 1933, Frank "Shag" Shaughnessy, General Manager of the League's Montreal Royals, introduced a new playoff system to International League President Charles H. Knappe and the Governors' Cup was born. Shaughnessy, who would ultimately serve as IL President from 1936 until 1960, was interested in developing a way for more than two clubs to share in the excitement of post-season play. His playoff format, devised to maintain the interest of fans and players alike during the Depression era, provided an opportunity for four teams to participate rather than only two. Several other leagues noticed the success of the "Shaughnessy Plan" and followed suit.

In response to the new playoff format, the Governors of Maryland, New Jersey, and New York and the Lieutenant Governors of the Provinces of Quebec and Ontario sponsored a trophy to be awarded annually to the winner of the International League playoffs. The trophy, created by the Supervisor of International League Umpires W.B. Carruth, was created out of solid silver and has been appraised at over $3,000.

In 1988, International League President Harold Cooper donated the trophy to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY, where it is on permanent display. A new trophy of the same name was minted in its' place and is presented annually to the winner of the Governors' Cup Series. In 2006, the trophy will reside at Fifth Third Field in Toledo, Ohio, home of the 2005 International League Champion Toledo Mud Hens.